AHSI’s 191st Annual Flower Show 2018

The Inauguration ceremony at Agri-Horticultural Society was held on 8thFebruary, 2018 Mr. Jawahar Sircar, IAS Former Chairman of Prasar Bharati, Govt of India has been invited as Chief Guest, Mr. Bruce Bucknell, Deputy High Commissioner of United Kingdom and Mrs. Bibha Krishna, Regional President, AWWA Guests of Honour and many other Guests present at the opening ceremony.

The Annual Flower Show consists of more than 3 different classes and nearly 280 sections covering palms, ferns, ornamental plants, cacti, succulents, vegetables, fruits, herbal plants, roses, gladioli, bonsai etc. It is arguably the largest flower show of the country even today.


There is an exhibition of Nature Photography by Mr. Tushar Kanti Dutta who have already won many National and International awards. Besides photography he has directed several short and documentary films which have been screened in many National and International festivals.


Shri. Keshari Nath Tripathy, Hon’ble Governor of West Bengal Chief Guest, Dr. Michael Feiner, Consulate General of Germany Guest of Honour and many other Guests will grace the prize distribution Ceremony which will be held on held on 11th February, 2018 at 4.00 pm

Show Timings: 9th to 11th February, 2018 – 7.00 am to 7.00 pm

“The diversity of horticulture is captured in hundreds of Seasonal flowers, perennial flowers, fruits and vegetables, medicinal plants, wide range of foliage plants, cacti and succulents, Bonsai etc. grown in pots. There are as many as 204 Sections and 76 Sub-sections in the schedule. Besides Unique pot culture in display there are three Floral arts of different styles, Japanies Style known as “Ikabena”, Indian floral Art with different depictions, cut flowers in HP conference hall, foreign flowers, exhibition of nature photography, a pavilion of Orchids” said Mr. Nirupom Sen, CEO AHSI .


Total exhibitors are 426, Total section entered was 2970 and Total pots in Display are 22760.

Best Group of Annual won by NTPC, Farakka ; Best Group of Annual won by NTPC, Farakka; Best Pot Rose of the Show ‘Tempi Moderni’ won by Maa Bhavatarini Nursery; Best Bonsai of the Show won by Subhendu Chowdhury; Best Orchid of the Show ‘Phalanopsis’ won by Mr. Narayan Panja; Best Cut Rose of the Show ‘Noon Stone’ won by ‘Jakpur Phoolchas Samiti; Best Group of Rose won MAA Bhavatarini Nurery were some of the winners at the Annual Flower show 2018.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.