#Kolkata: In the end, the BJP announced its candidate for the Bhabanipur by-election. Gerua Shibir has declared Priyanka Tibrewal, the BJP candidate from Antalya, as its candidate against Mamata Banerjee in Bhabanipur in the last assembly polls. Though there are questions within the party about re-nominating the defeated candidate in the Assembly, the BJP is going to jump into the Bhabanipur by-election with full force. Gerua Shibir has released a list of 20 star campaigners on behalf of lawyer Priyanka Tibrewal against Mamata Banerjee.

Who is not on that list? Union Minister Smriti Irani, state opposition leader Shuvendu Adhikari and state BJP president Dilip Ghosh. Significantly, Babul Supriya, who has announced his resignation from politics, has found a place in the list of those preachers. Rudranil Ghosh, a BJP candidate from Bhabanipur, has been made the chairman of the campaign committee. Also on the list of star campaigners are BJP general secretary (organization) Amitabh Chakraborty, MP Swapan Dasgupta, Anirban Gangopadhyay, Rahul Sinha, former minister Debashree Chowdhury, Union minister Subhash Sarkar, Shantanu Tagore, John Barla, Shameek Bhattacharya, Rupa Gangadha. Pal, Manoj Tiwari, Shahwaz Hossain, Hardeep Singh Puri and Dinesh Trivedi.

Read more: ‘If people can vote, I will win’, Priyanka Tibrewal is fighting from ‘Nanibari’!

In the Bhabanipur by-election, there was a rift within the BJP over who would be the candidate against Mamata Banerjee. It is reported that many people inside the Gerua camp did not want to be candidates. Sources said that Mithun Chakraborty was also among those to whom the proposal was sent. But many, including Mithun, did not want to stand against Mamata. As a result, complications were created within the BJP with the Bhabanipur candidate. In the end, the BJP announced Priyanka, a lawyer in the Calcutta High Court, as its candidate. After that, Gerua Shibir published a long list of star preachers and explained that Bhabanipur is being given importance by the party.

However, the grassroots are a few steps ahead from the beginning of the campaign. The Trinamool has also formed a star-studded party of 20 people to campaign in the by-elections on behalf of the party leader. Mamata Banerjee herself is at the top of the list of preachers for Mamata Banerjee. Besides, the names of the party’s all-India general secretary Abhishek Bandyopadhyay, party general secretary Perth Chatterjee, state president Subrata Bokshi, veteran party leader Subrata Mukherjee, MP Saugat Roy, minister Firhad Hakim, minister Arup Biswas, youth leader Saini Ghosh are also named.

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here